SAIL Programming

Detroit Lakes Public Schools offers academic based extended year programming called SAIL (Success and Achievement in Learning!) 

The following are the specifics on how Targeted Services are provided. Targeted services is a state-funded, by invitation only program, that offers additional learning opportunities to academically targeted K-8 students. Students are invited if they would benefit from the program and are able to be independent, safe, and successful within the program.

Targeted service programs are purposefully designed to build academic skills, as well as to help students develop better organizational and social/emotional skills.

Summer SAIL 2024

Laker log behind sunrise. Elementary Sunrise SAIL. Success and Achievement in Learning.

Sunrise SAIL is a before school reading program designed to help students develop a love for reading, exploring stories, and learning new information. It is also intended to help families who need to drop off their children after 7:30AM but before 7:50AM.

Please complete this form for each child that you would like to be a part of the program.

 Sunrise SAIL 

SAIL After School

Our SAIL After School program is our Targeted Services program.  It runs from October 2 through April 27, Mondays through Thursdays. It is from 3:30 until 5:00 PM each day. The focus is on reading, math, and STEAM. We also include snacks each day and a culture/art station every other week.

Any questions, please contact Rhonda Fode rfode@detlakes.k12.mn.us, Brandon Schlenner bschlenner@detlakes.k12.mn.us, or Jeanette Schornack jschornack@detlakes.k12.mn.us. Thank you!

SAIL Program Dates

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
  • October 2, 3, 4, 5  
  • October 9-12  
  • October 16-17  
  • October 23-26  
  • October 30,
  • Nov 1  
  • November 7 and 8  
  • November 13-16  
  • November 20-21
  •  November 27-30
  • December 4-7  
  • December 11-14  
  • December 18-20  
  • January 3 and 4  
  • January 8-11  
  • January 16-18  
  • January 22-25  
  • January 29, 30, Feb 1  
  • February 5-8  
  • February 12-15  
  • February 20-22  
  • February 26-28  
  • March 4, 6, and 7
  •  March 11-14  
  • March 18-21
  •  March 25 and 26  
  • April 2-4  
  • April 8-11  
  • April 15-18  
  • April 22-25
Girl smiling next to her Play-doh creation.
Student smiling for a photo before exploring nature in a clear tub with a tweezers.
Three boys reading on bean bag chairs together.
Three boys playing disc golf outside
Two young students showing off the boats they created with recycled materials

Contact Information

Picture of Rhonda Fode
Rhonda Fode
Coordinator of SAIL Programming
218-847-1106, ext. 4117

 

Brandon Schlenner
Brandon Schlenner
Director of Targeted Services
218-844-5687

 

Picture of Jeanette Schornack
Jeanette Schornack
Administrative Assistant
218-844-5687